James Rushford

James Rushford (b. Melbourne 1985) is a Los Angeles-based composer, keyboardist, violist and improviser. His work is drawn from a familiarity with specific concrète, improvised, avant-garde and collagist languages. He has been commissioned by ensembles including BBC Scottish Symphony (Glasgow), Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Ensemble Neon (Oslo), Speak Percussion, Synergy Percussion, Ensemble Offspring, Soundstream, The Song Company, and Decibel, and has had work featured in the Melbourne International Arts Festival (2006 and 2008), Norway Ultima Festival (2011), Unsound Festival (New York 2014), Tectonics Festival (Scotland 2013) and the Liquid Architecture Festival (2010). Performance highlights include Steim Institute (Amsterdam), Logos Foundation (Ghent), Issue Project Room (New York), Instants Chavirés (Paris), Café Oto (London), Super Deluxe (Tokyo), Centre for Contemporary Art (Warsaw), Only Connect Festival (Oslo), Now Now (2011/2012), Adelaide Festival (2014) and the Melbourne International Jazz Festival (2011). Collaborative projects include work with Golden Fur (with Samuel Dunscombe and Judith Hamann), Jon Rose, Oren Ambarchi, Iancu Dumitrescu, Ana-Maria Avram, Kassel Jaeger, Ned Collette, Graham Lambkin, Sophia Brous, Crys Cole, Francis Plagne, Klaus Lang, Tashi Wada, Michael Pisaro and Joe Talia. James has also scored soundtracks for films by Dennis Cooper and Michael Salerno. His music and performances have been published by Pogus (US), Touch (UK), Prisma (Norway), Mego (Austria), Bocian (Poland), Penultimate Press (UK), Loopy (US) and Kye (US).